Ares Games

View Poll Results: When is your DIY plane "perfect enough"?

Voters
103. You may not vote on this poll
  • I buy blank planes and I play with them unpainted. As long as the mini is on the table, it's fine!

2 1.94%
  • I paint my planes as I like it, historical accuracy isn't important.

12 11.65%
  • I paint them to a historical standart, but I add details to separate planes between them.

42 40.78%
  • I love history and will detail my planes as closely as possible to historical standards.

42 40.78%
  • I build all the planes from a specific squadron or JaSta, with all the bells and whistles

2 1.94%
  • You can take a picture of my plane and say it was taken in 1917. (and they'll believe you!)

3 2.91%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: When is your DIY plane "perfect enough"?

Default When is your DIY plane "perfect enough"?

Hi!
    I'm (or rather have been) an IT project manager by trade and in project management, we have this principle that you should learn to finish your project when it is "perfect enough".

Perfect enough means that the thing you created has all the bells and whistles it needs to have and that it does work as it should. Full stop!
    Going any further will get you in trouble in at least one of your boundaries (Within Time/Within Cost/At the desired performance & technology level/While utilizing the assigned resources effectively and efficiently/Accepted by the customer), etc.

Here are a few of the more common casualties of chasing perfection:
    • Diminishing Returns – The effort required to polish something beyond discernible improvement is rarely worth it. Will your users even notice, or more importantly appreciate these efforts?
    • The 80/20 Rule – The final 20% of any project usually takes 80% of the effort. Moreover sometimes the last 20% can be so unreasonably difficult that all previous effort needs to be scrapped. This is how good ideas get scrapped.